The Gym

 

The world we live in can be very intimidating and judgmental. If you aren’t alert to them, the stresses of our fast paced lives can catch up with you. It is very easy to become overwhelmed with responsibilities and constant demands. For many people, it can be hard to find your place and discover an environment in which you can express yourself and truly feel free of the burdens of everyday life. There is one place, in particular, that provides a venue for individuals to grow and develop both physically, spiritually, mentally and emotionally. The place I am referring to is the gym.

Whether it is for half an hour or for two hours, the gym provides an environment in which we can escape the demands of our fast paced lives. To be able to spend time in a non-judgmental and positive atmosphere has many beneficial influences. It’s amazing how you feel once you begin that workout and the endorphins begin to release in your body. This results in a positive feeling in your body and most avid gym users crave this feeling. For those of you who go to the gym, I’m sure you can relate to this feeling.

For me personally, and many other people I know, we use the gym as an outlet. I have been pretty consistent about going to the gym for almost three years. In the beginning, I used the gym more as an outlet to help me with anxiety and the stresses of my life. I had knee surgery in August 2013 and, shortly after, I started going to GoodLife Fitness to begin my road to recovery. I will be honest; it was an incredibly tedious process and I often thought about giving up. I was doing my physiotherapy at the gym and my recovery was much harder than I had anticipated. However, with the encouragement of some old friends and new friends I met at GoodLife, I stuck with it. The sense of community and family that the gym promotes is incredible. People with whom I had never spoken would come up to me and encourage me to continue on my fitness journey. I continue to be friends with many of these people today. I’ve never really been a part of anything quite like this, an environment in which we each face our own insecurities and stresses but continue to push each other to become the strongest version of ourselves.

This fitness journey of mine has allowed me to become stronger both physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. I have never felt this confident and realize the benefits of participating in regular fitness. I will be the first to admit that I still face moments in which I am insecure and have self-doubt but, compared to three years ago, I am an entirely new person. In fact, I love the benefits that GoodLife offers so much that I have recently joined the company. To be able to work in an environment that allows people to express themselves in their own manner is incredibly important to me. To say that I love to help people would be an understatement and now I get to help people on their own fitness journey every day. GoodLife is not just about being physically strong; it is about feeling comfortable in your own skin. Each one of us has a gift to offer and this is why it is so important to become your strongest self.

I know the battle that I was facing three years ago (I will blog about it in more depth in weeks to come) and I know that many other gym members are facing similar obstacles. For me to be on the other side of it now as an employee is something that I welcome. To be able to remind those people on similar journeys that they are truly one of a kind and beautiful in their own skin is something that I will embrace. Whether your main goal is to lift weights, take part in a fitness class or reconnect with friends while engaging in healthy activities, keep doing it! I  encourage you to never give up no matter how hard the circumstances may be. We each owe it to ourselves to live a healthy lifestyle and there is no better place to do that than the gym.

I will continue to go to the gym for the rest of my life as I will be reminded of the difficult times with which I was faced . When all else failed, the gym was there for me. There was no judgment, only optimism and encouragement from some great friends. I was able to rebuild myself on multiple fronts and it helped shape me into the person I am today. When I am not connecting with friends at the gym, my favorite thing to do is listen to music while I lift weights and get lost in my own thoughts. I have recently been introduced to some fitness classes as well. I was reluctant at first as they are outside of my comfort zone but I absolutely love them!

What is your favorite thing about the gym?

 

“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live in.”

“A one hour workout is 4% of your day. No excuses”

“I exercise because somehow completely exhausting myself is the most relaxing part of my day”

“You’re only one workout away from a good mood”

Leave a Reply

