Stay true to yourself

 

Over the past couple of months I have had people question the course of action I have taken. They say things like “you don’t even work” or “go get a job”. Is this the kind of mindset people have? I personally don’t understand this perspective. Just because someone doesn’t work 9-5 and do what everyone else is doing doesn’t mean you should pass judgment on them. It is possible that us “outliers” see potential in a new idea, are pursuing an alternate career path or are looking to become the person they were always meant to be. It took me 28 years to figure this out. Up until recently, I lived a life of conformity without following my passion; it took a lot of courage to really look at myself and to begin to shift my mindset.

Now I am actively taking risks and pursuing my goals. One day, I will be able to look back and say that I did not live a life of conformity but one guided by choice and my own intuition. I will say that the longer you are out of the corporate 9-5 work day, the harder it gets. It is extremely difficult to launch businesses or get into a new line of work, especially ones in which you have no experience. But it is at these times that I need to remind myself that I have discovered my own path rather than following societal expectations. I have some tough days but, in the end, I would rather fail and learn than go to a job that does not foster my growth or personal development goals. This journey has been very educational for me, especially in terms of the reaction of some. Because I do not have a “job” people think I sit at home and watch Netflix all day. This couldn’t be farther from the truth. I spend most of my days reading or at the library doing research and learning about subjects that will help bring my visions to reality. I will be the first to admit that I am behind the schedule I established for myself but to revise your perception on life and what you want to achieve after 30 years of influence from society, school, friends, and family is very hard to do. 

The personal growth and development I have gone through has been extremely valuable. I am writing this thinking about how far I need to go, but the obstacles you overcome are part of the experience. If it was easy everyone would do it. I have had people reach out to me and tell me how I have inspired them and to keep going. It is these conversations that keep me afloat. In moments of doubt, I reflect on how far I have come and what I hope to accomplish. If I can inspire and mentor even one person and help them become their greatest self, than I feel like I will have succeeded. I am finally looking to work and create things that align with my passions and I am committed to this path.

I believe if someone is leading a life consistent with their passions and values that they are a huge success, regardless of their title or income. There is more to life than living for a title or pay cheque; to be brave and follow your dreams deserves recognition. I encourage everyone to lead a life true to themselves, regardless of what others think.

Be the CEO of your life” – Robin Sharma

Dream up a vision so brave it makes all those around you roll with laughter” – Robin Sharma

Set a goal to achieve something so big, so exhilarating that it excites you and scares you at the same time” – Bob Proctor

If you never take a chance, you will never know for sure” – Darren hardy

4 thoughts on “Stay true to yourself

  1. “I believe if someone is leading a life consistent with their passions and values that they are a huge success, regardless of their title or income.” Totally agree with this!!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

